Random · Travel

Rainbows, Moroccan trains & Dolly Parton

On the rare days that life as an expat feels a touch overwhelming, I find myself saying: “This would be so much easier if I were home,” though whether that is true I cannot say. 

Today, as I busily hunt for a new apartment in Amsterdam, where demand is high and it can sometimes be quite discouraging, Google Photos reminded me of a fitting Dolly Parton with a memory from Morocco in 2015. 

“If you want the rainbow, you gotta put up with the rain.” 

I’m sure this is one of the, if not the only rainbow I’ve ever seen that seemed to reach the earth at each end. I could only manage a quick picture on my phone before the train hurried on.

One thought on “Rainbows, Moroccan trains & Dolly Parton

Leave a Reply

